Skip to main content

Posts

Showing posts from March, 2013

BTR's Featured World of Ink Network show: Families Matter on Student/School Safety

Join BTR's World of Ink Network Featured Families Matter show March 27, 2013 at 6pm EDT - 5pm CDT - 4pm MDT - 3pm PDT as the hosts Kecia Burcham, Irene Roth and Virginia S Grenier discuss the recent issues all families are talking about...student and school safety.

NASRO President Kevin Quinn will be joining the show to talk about the importance of having the presence of school resource officers in schools, their duty to protect children on campus and the prevention of school violence.They will be addressing the issues of guns in schools, bullying and what parents and schools can do to help keep this crisis from growing.

HWG Spring Workshop: Do you Want to be an Author or a Writer Writing Boot Camp

Do You Want to be an Author or a Writer
May 18, 2013 Writing Boot Camp
Location:
Vista Ridge Estates
Community Building
1331 N Dixie Downs Rd.
St George, UT 84770

~Keynote Speaker~ Jack Remick is a poet, short story writer and  novelist. In 2012, Coffeetown Press published the first two volumes of Jack’s California Quartet series, The Deification and Valley Boy. The final two volumes will be released in 2013: The Book of Changes and Trio of Lost Souls. Blood, A Novel was published by Camel Press, an imprint of Coffeetown Press, in 2011. You can find Jack Remick online at http://bobandjackswritingblog.com/  or http://jackremick.com




~SCHEDULE~ 8-8:30amRegistration
8:30-8:45amWelcome/Opening 8:45-10:45amJack Remick: The Three S’s—Story, Structure, StyleThis is a hands on workshop  using timed writing. Prefer longhand with pen and paper.
Bring a one page passage from Work in Progress.
Suggested reading: Writing Down The Bones; The Weekend Novelist Writes a Mystery 11-11:45amBarbara Funke: Your Brain…

Interview Friday with Author Scott R. Caseley

I am excited to introduce Debut Author Scott R. Caseley on my blog today. While Isosceles is his first novel, he wrote and directed a dramatic feature, co-wrote and directed a documentary and wrote for an online magazine. He’s also a trained voice, stage, and screen actor. In addition to his creative pursuits, he is passionate about healthy living. He follows a mostly self-directed fitness quest consisting of weight training, walking, swimming, yoga, and hula hooping.

When not working out, he also enjoys cooking healthy gourmet meals as well as playing board games with family and friends with plenty of coffee brewing to keep the fun going until the wee hours of the morning.


Book Review Tuesday: Isosceles by Scott R. Caseley

About the Book: The novel takes the reader on a journey through the thirteen-year friendship between Sean McIntyre and Trey Goodsby. When Sean finds his best friend Trey dead and almost completely submerged in a bathtub filled with bloody water, he is determined to find out if it was an accident or suicide. Did his death accidental or intentional have anything to do with Madeline Edwards, the woman who came between them constantly through their thirteen-year friendship? The tale begins with the death of Trey Goodsby and explores his relationships with family, friends, his romances, and which of the circumstances he found himself in that led to the tragic event, and the repercussions for those he left behind.
Overall Thoughts: Oh, where to begin on this epic tale of friendship, family, love and death…I think I’ll start with the three main characters of this contemporary tale. I was able to relate to each one and even saw bits of myself. Trey is a typical bad boy on the surface. He gets …

The Writing Mama show with Virginia S Grenier and Guest Susanne Jacoby Hale

Join the hosts of The Writing Mama show on March 18, 2013 at 2pm EDT - 1pm CDT - Noon MDT - 11am PDT

Virginia S Grenier will be chatting with debut author Susanne Jacoby Hale, a former drop-out prevention teacher from New York and author of Shades of Gray.  Jacoby Hale earned a master's degree from New York University in education and creative writing. Although, when she began teaching in the real ACE program, depicted in Shades of Gray, she had no idea that it would change her life forever. Having been out of the classroom for a few years, Jacoby Hale still felt the need to make a difference in the lives of students.


Susanne Jacoby Hale felt the need to tell the story of a dedicated teacher. She believes  good teachers are often unappreciated, while students’ needs are frequently misconstrued. Sometimes the only thing missing in today’s classrooms is compassion. Her book is the fictional account of a new teacher's experience with one of NYC's most notoriously turbulent s…

BTR's Featured World of Ink Network show: What is Success

Join the hosts of the What is Success Show Wed. March 13, 2013 at 10pm EST - 9pm CST - 8pm MST - 7pm PST as they talk about the TV shows they are enjoying and the ones they feel need to be cancelled or are happy they have been.
Virginia S Grenier and Bennet Pomerantz are happy to hear from you and what TV shows you're watching too. So call in or post in the chatroom your Favorite or not so favorite shows.
To learn more about the host and the World of Ink Network visit http://worldofinknetwork.com
The What Is Success show airs on the 2nd Wed. of each month. What us to review a movie, TV show or book? Send us your suggestion.